1 2 3 Previous Next 36 Replies Latest reply: May 31, 2014 9:09 PM by Joshua Johnson - CCNP R&S RSS

Describe the IP Packet Header and each field in a Traffic Capture

Joshua Johnson - CCNP R&S

See attached, have fun!

• 3. Re: Describe the IP Packet Header and each field in a Traffic Capture
          jheinrichs79

Well this is my first time doing this... Hope I got it correct.

I used this as my basis: http://nmap.org/book/images/hdr/MJB-IP-Header-800x576.png

Then looked at the output and came up with this:

eigrp-capture-header.JPG

How did I do?

• 4. Re: Describe the IP Packet Header and each field in a Traffic Capture
            mett

Thanks for this wild question, it made me realized many things!!!

Often watching sniffer lately and suddenly being able to vizualize those fields down the UI is quite exciting.

I attached png as well, as I m not sure about the format on CLN forum.

1234587812345678123456781234567812345678123456781234567812345678

|             |             |             |              |             |             |              |             |

+--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

|4     |5    |c0          |0064                    |0000                    |0000                     |

|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

|02          |58          |cd76                    |0a000002                                          |

|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

|e000000a                                         |

|-------------------------------------------------------|

4: IPv4(version)

5: Header is 5x32bits words(IHL)

c0:1100 00(00) CS6, ClassSelector6(IP precedence 6)+Explicit Congestion Notification set to 0(DS, related to TOS and used for QOS).