10 Replies Latest reply: Aug 28, 2013 6:48 PM by Chris RSS

Home Lab setup for the v2.0 Lab Exam

Chris

Quick background - I work in a large Enterprise Gov't environment. 

Supporting over 25k Users in a Multi-Site Cisco Environment.  (ACS 5.4/WCS/44xx/AD/EAP-TLS in the (slow) process of migrating towards ISE/NCS/MSE/55xx/AD/EAP-TLS/BYOD/Guest)   No VoWLAN/Multicast currently, but after forklift upgrade likely.

So I have some experience in a day to day operations understanding of most of these devices, save the MSE/Loc2710.

Finishing up my CCNP-W exams, (IAUWS/IUMWS - sitting IUWVN later this month and CUWSS shortly thereafter) and then off to the Written. 

Using the below lab setup to a) start prepping scenarios for exams/lab per config guides b) more realworld survey analysis (Cisco Adv. Services was contracted for the previous analysis/equipment buy list)

Using the available information provided from Cisco, I've created an extensive spreadsheet that includes TechNotes/Configuration Guides/etc (along with a who's who of blogs with most of the industry "big names")

I *think* that this should hit 95% of the scenarios on the v2.0, but looking for some feedback from those whom have taken the Lab or close too it.

Still adding some components for prep for v3.0/Work environment.  (see MSE 3310 to replace Demo VM image).  Suggestions/Feedback appreciated.

** CCIE Wireless Home Lab **

1 Windows 2003 AD Server (PowerEdge 2650)

1 VMware Server (MSE, WCS) (PowerEdge 2950)

1 Cisco 1113 Secure Access Control Server (ACS 4.2)

1 Cisco Catalyst 3750 (Layer 3)

1 Cisco Catalyst 2960 (Layer 2)

1 Cisco 2504 Wireless Lan Controller (7.2x and above code - Foreign Controller)

1 Cisco 4404 Wireless Lan Controller (Anchor Controller - Guest/BYOD)

1 Cisco 3502e Access Point (Clean Air)

5 Cisco 1131 Access Point (LWAPP, Autonomous, Mesh)

1 Cisco 2811 Router (Main Router w/ Unified Communications Manager Express 8.6)

1 Cisco 7921g Wireless VoIP Phone