Cisco Learning Home > CCDA Study Group > Discussions
5082 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Aug 27, 2012 7:01 PM by Jared RSS

Currently Being Moderated

640-864: Describe the Methodolgy used to design a network

Jul 13, 2012 12:47 PM

Jared 5,502 posts since
Jul 27, 2008

Hello all,

With some of the comments and queries that have been in the CCDA area and CCDA Study group of CLN, I have been comtemplating re-starting some organized discussions.  Now, I am also studying for some CCNP Wireless material and have been focusing on wireless pretty heavily for the past couple of years.  Well, with the feedback in the CCDA areas, I am thinking I may take a break and divert to design.

There was a series of discussions that were started by Travis a couple of years ago and they were some great discussions with great feedback and insight from many CLN members.  Due to lack of time and interest, those discussions kind of died off and we really never got through everything.  Also, they were based on the old 640-863 testing objectives.  As we all know, the CCDA has been updated since then.  These discussion are still a great read and I would encourage people to go back and refer to them.

So, I would like to re-launch these discussions only focus on the 640-864 testing objectives.  My personal goal is to actually nail out the CCDA exam this time around.  Last time, I had fun studying, but was mostly doing it for the learning and the for the certification.  This time around, I am going to focus on learning AND certification.  These new discussions are not meant to replace what was done previously but to enhance our focus to the current 640-864 exam.

With that here are the objectives for the first discussion:

Describe the Methodology used to design a network

• Describe developing business trends
  • Identify Network Requirements to Support the Organization
  • Describe the tools/process to characterize an existing network
  • Describe the top down approach to network design