Skip navigation
Cisco Learning Home > Certifications > Routing & Switching (CCNA) > Discussions

_Communities

This Question is Not Answered 1 Correct Answer available (4 pts) 2 Helpful Answers available (2 pts)
5592 Views 25 Replies Latest reply: May 18, 2012 8:40 AM by Daniel RSS 1 2 Previous Next

Currently Being Moderated

NO ping on directly connected routers

May 10, 2012 4:44 AM

jawad 8 posts since
May 10, 2012

i am new to CCNA I have small GNS3 lab with 7 cisco c2691 routers they all directly connected with FE interfaces all into sam esubnets tried RIP but can not ping any of the router need help please as I can not resolve this over 2 weeks any will be great

Thanks

Jawad

• Currently Being Moderated
    1. May 10, 2012 6:05 AM (in response to jawad)
    Re: NO ping on directly connected routers

Hello Jawad,

Can you post your router configurations?

Regards,

DelVonte

• Daniel 197 posts since
    Jul 21, 2011
    3. May 11, 2012 2:07 AM (in response to jawad)

Hi Jawad,

To help you fix "all" the possible configurations would be a long post. So i'll help you with the connection between R1 and R3 and perhaps you can figure out whats wrong with the rest?

First you need to understand that to be able to ping, each router needs to know where the other routers belong. And to be able to transfer packes BETWEEN each other they need to be interconnected on the same subnet SOMEWHERE so that packets can travel between the routers.

On R1 you have FastEthernet0/0 configured with ip-address  192.168.1.3 255.255.255.0 (/24). That cable is connected to Router 3's FastEthernet0/1 interface.

Taking a look at your R3 configuration there is NO ip-address configured on interface FA0/1. What you need to do is put this interface in the SAME subnet as the other router it interconnects with (R1). MEaning, you need an ip-address in the subnet 192.168.1.0 /24 configured. So let's fix that....

From R3:

enable

configure terminal

int fa0/1