Skip navigation
Cisco Learning Home > CCIP Study Group > Discussions
1936 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Apr 2, 2012 12:43 AM by Joshua Johnson - CCNP R&S RSS

Currently Being Moderated

Real-World experienc!!!  Wha dye do today ???

Feb 16, 2012 3:34 AM

arnoldlane 2 posts since
Sep 13, 2010

Hi All

I have been studying Cisco for 18 months now and have picked up my CCENT. CCNA .CCNP  and am about to embark on my CCIP . Although I have a decent setup at home and have tried to get as much "Hands-on" experience I am only too aware that Tshooting a Lab cannot pass for "Real-world" experience ....

I have found that the only Tshooting I get is in configuration .That is !There is a bad config and the Lab will not work from the start . The jobs market in my country is non existant at the moment and Volunteering is not an option as I live in a remote part of the country   Anyhow

What I was hoping was to get some advice on what types of problems would a Network Engineer face in their daily jobs ?  What I mean is would most of the time be devoted to monitoring network traffic ?  Are the majority of problems hardware based ? Cpu/memory  resources ? How much time would you  actually spend on the CLI ? What problems have you encountered that have had you Stumped and what were the solutions . What are the tasks that you find are a pain in the neck etc ?

How did the job/duties differ from what your expectations were ?

I know its hard to sum up even a days work in one post but I am just trying to get a general idea of what the overall duties of the Cisco Network Profesional would entail . Any sharing of your experience in Real-world scenarios would be very much appreciated as I think it may be a while before I get to follow my goal So all I can do is keep on keeping-on with the study till things pick up.