7 Replies Latest reply: Aug 4, 2011 9:22 PM by Cameron Hughes RSS

Cisco Discovery vs Cisco Exploration

Cameron Hughes

Just wondering what Cisco discovery and Cisco exploration have in common and the biggest difference. Is one better then the other? Witch would be preferred?

Thanks

• 2. Re: Cisco Discovery vs Cisco Exploration
          Cameron Hughes

Thanks for the reply. But I am just starting out and I understand that they are different and the same but I was looking for an answer from someone that has been in the classes or that is an instructor. (I've read those pages and get a little bit out of them but not a firm grasp right now)

thanks,

JC

• 3. Re: Cisco Discovery vs Cisco Exploration
            DelVonte

Exploration goes into more "technical detail' than Discovery. From what I've seen and heard from others, Exploration goes deeper into the CCNA concepts, while Discovery gives you an introduction to networking. Of course I can't confirm this firsthand, but the descriptions on the links provided seem to suggest this:

CCNA Discovery is designed for students with basic PC skills and foundational math and problem solving skills. The curriculum offers an engaging learning experience for more visual and kinetic learners. Many interactive activities are embedded in all of the courses to break up the text and help reinforce student comprehension. In addition, a large number of labs encourage additional hands-on practice.

CCNA Exploration is designed for students with advanced problem solving and analytical skills. The curriculum offers a comprehensive and theoretical learning experience for analytical students, and uses language that aligns well with engineering concepts. Interactive activities are embedded in the curriculum, along with detailed, theoretical content. Advanced labs build critical thinking and problem solving skills and encourage exploration and research.