Skip navigation
Cisco Learning Home > Connections > Program Overview > Discussions

_Communities

This Question is Not Answered 1 Correct Answer available (4 pts) 2 Helpful Answers available (2 pts)
3720 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jul 8, 2011 8:27 AM by ISMAIL (CCIE (Written) /CCSP/CCNP/JNCIS-ER/MCSA) RSS

Currently Being Moderated

Spanning tree Protocol

Jul 6, 2011 10:43 AM

Ian 3 posts since
Jul 6, 2011

To whomever can help:

I'm studying spanning-tree Protocol and I'm not clear as to why spanning tree was implemented as it was.

Why cant each switch have a topological map  and decide the best path for itself like a router does?  is this not possible? is it because layer 2 is only concerned with getting the frame between each individual link? I do not understand why all traffic must go to the root bridge before being forwarded.  My mentality is, "think for yourself," so I don't understand why there must be a hierarchical design. to me it does not make sense to send all traffic to one swtich for it to then turn around and forward it to the correct place instead of the first switch the frame hits just sending it straight to the destination provided that the mac table  is updated.

I think my main problem is still why do we have to have layer 2 and layer 3?  why not just integrate those 2 parts?  I think the OSI model should only include application presentation session transport pathing (layers 2 and 3 put together) and physical layer.  I thnink that IPv6 does partially address this problem but it won't be globally/universally adopted by busiensses of all sizes and home users  for years to come.  not until the ISPs completely change over.