13 Replies Latest reply: May 9, 2011 4:22 PM by Mike Gannon RSS

Beginner

Penny

I am interested in entering the computer forensics field and feel that Cisco CCNA track would be good knowledge to have in network/internet security. I am brand new to this field, but I just bought the CCENT study guide by Todd Lammle. I'm very anxious to dive into it and learn something new. I was wondering if I could get some tips on what to focus on, and what to expect. I look forward to building with you guys.

• 1. Re: Beginner
          Martin

computer forensics - don't you need a college degree for that;

do you have any networking expierence ?

start reading , ask questions if  you don 't understand;

cbt nuggets have video on ccna and Network +; great choice for beginners.

• 2. Re: Beginner
            Penny

absolutley no experience. thanks for the cbt nuggets tip.

• 3. Re: Beginner
              Martin

I did not look into Todd's new CCENT book so not sure if a reader must have some sorth of basic knowledge of networking.

what does he write about in introduction ? who is the book for ? etc. if you have problems understanding when reading, then look into a Network + book or some book on intro to networking.

you don't have to pass the Network + test, just get some knowledge.

the best book ever for intro to networking is

http://www.amazon.com/CompTIA-Network-All--Guide-Fourth/dp/0071614877/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1303802238&sr=8-1

Then you need Packet tracer software from Cisco. PT lets you build networks and see "trafic" one by one and step-by-step in slow motion in PT Sim mode.

Some PT come with labs in package; but likely you will neet to get those from many sites or build by yourself.

• 4. Re: Beginner
                omkar

if u want to knowlede go for network +

if u want practical and theory then go for ccna

books-

ccna todd lammle

wendell odom ccna library book

video-cbt nuggets or train siganl

lab-packet tracer or real lab or gns3 with ios