Cisco Learning Home > Certifications > Routing & Switching (CCNA) > Discussions

_Communities

47142 Views 14 Replies Latest reply: Aug 17, 2011 1:21 PM by mgeorge RSS

Currently Being Moderated

Router and Switch Simulators

Jul 6, 2008 9:49 PM

2 posts since
Jul 6, 2008

I am currently studying for the CCNA certification and have found that it would be most useful to be exposed to a lab environment for most of the curriculum. Unfortunately, I work 40+ hours a week in a field that does not deal with routing or switching currently and do not have the time for a class room setting. I am using the Cisco CCNA ICND 1 and 2 Cert Guides as study material and have am nearing completion of studying them. I have heard of routing and switching simulators that allow you to do a mock setup of a network. Looking around, it seems the average price is around 300-400 hundred. I'll pay the price, but do want to know which one is going to help me the most in my circumstance.

I am also currently working as a broadband technician for a Cable company, but am wanting to transition into a networking career. I currently do not have a degree. I would like to land an entry level networking job so I can acquire on the job experience, but it seems most places want someone with a degree or 2-3 years experience. Has anyone else been down a similar path?? I'm not afraid of contract work or traveling either, my wife and I are in our 20's with no children, and would love the opportunity to travel. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

--Gary Hawkins

• Ryan Hicks 75 posts since
    Jun 25, 2008
    1. Jul 6, 2008 10:43 PM (in response to Gary hawkins)
    Re: Router and Switch Simulators