3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 13, 2019 9:51 AM by Sergey RSS

VPN's

Richard H

Hello all,

I am currently studying for the CCNA using the Netacad course "CCNA Routing and Switching: Connecting Networks" and I had a question regarding tunneling using GRE. I suppose it is a more fundamental question; why encapsulate private addresses (using GRE), rather than simply routing the traffic to the destination? What benefit does that offer? Also, if you want to encrypt your traffic (I know GRE doesn't encrypt), why not only encrypt the payload and not touch the rest of the packet? Just trying to see what "need" GRE is supposed to fulfill.

Regards,

Ricky

• 1. Re: VPN's
          Ing_Percy

Hi!

One application of GRE: Transition from IPv4 to IPv6

greipv6ipv4.PNG

Another application: In IPsec over GRE

greipv6ipv4-2.PNG

More details: https://networkology.net/2013/07/16/ipsec-over-gre-configuration-and-explanation-ccie-notes/

Best regards!

• 2. Re: VPN's
            Martin

Benefits of IPSec Virtual Private networks are: Confidentiality, Integrity, Authentication, Anti-Replay attacks protection.  VPN is a tunnel carrying data that is invisible to others over Public or Private networks.  obvious use is VPN over the Internet.  Anyone in the middle, yours and mine ISPs, do not see traffic, not able to read it or capture it.

Government, Banks, other Companies will lease Private lines from ISP but still use VPNs for secure transactions and data  communications.  ISP is unable to intercept traffic. Trace traffic shows me 2 hops away when we are on 2 different continents.  you work in IT/IS firm where anyone and everyone knows how to use Wireshark.  you have something that needs to be hidden from other people, u can use VPN.

There are 2 modes: GRE over IPSec (recommended) or IPSec over GRE (not so much).  One application of those 2 modes is Crypto Maps. Crypto maps are used in legacy IPsec Site to Site VPN (which was replaced by modern VTI IPSec site to site VPN technology).