4 Replies Latest reply: Mar 21, 2019 7:49 AM by Trevor RSS

Understanding ARP, VLANs, sub-interfaces, router-on-a-stick setup

Trevor

Hello Learning Community,

I think I'm missing the boat on something here. I'm studying for my ICND1 and trying to setup a lab on VLANs before I move onto routing protocols.

The problem as I see it is that I can't ping a VLAN IP address assigned to a VLAN on a switch, but I can ping the VLAN gateway on the router. To elaborate...

I've got a home laptop connected to fa0/1 on my 2950-24 Catalyst. It's configured with address 172.16.10.33/24 and I have a route added in windows for all traffic on that net to point to 172.16.10.1/24, the VLAN gateway IP assigned to a subinterface on the router.

On the 2950-24 Catalyst, I have fa0/1 set to access VLAN 10, VLAN10 is defined, and I've assigned an IP address to the VLAN interface (which is not shutdown) so that hosts on the VLAN can access the switch. VLAN 10 on the switch is for the 172.16.10.0/24 network so the interface IP of VLAN 10 is set to 172.16.10.2.

On the 2950-24 Catalyst, I also have fa0/24 connected to my router on port fa0/1, configured as a trunk, and VLAN 10 has been added to the trunk as an allowed VLAN with the native VLAN set to 1 (the default). VLAN 1 is configured with an interface IP address of 172.16.0.10/30.

On the 2801 Router, I have port fa0/1 connected to port fa0/24 on the switch, it is configured with 1 IP address for the native VLAN of 172.16.0.9/30, as well as a sub-interface for VLAN 10 on the switch the port connects to. fa0/1.10 is assigned 172.16.10.1/24.

From my laptop, I can ping the 172.16.10.1 gateway on the router and my laptop shows up on the router ARP table. However, I can not ping the 172.16.10.2 address on the switch, nor does my laptop show up in the ARP table on the switch.