10 Replies Latest reply: Nov 9, 2018 1:33 PM by carlos RSS

CCNP R&S, CCIE R&S Laptop Suggestion, Please!

Faisal

Hi,

I want to buy a laptop for CCNP, CCIE lab practice and study. Simulator & Emulator Packet Tracer, GNS3, etc. My laptop budget is $700.

1. Recommend Brand ?

2. Ram ?

3. Storage ?

4. Ports / Interface Required ?

etc

or

Any specific laptop / model name.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: CCNP R&S, CCIE R&S Laptop Suggestion, Please!
          Steven Davidson

I have a pretty simple HP notebook, picked up as an open item at Best Buy for around $400, which I subsequently upgraded to 16 GB RAM and an SSD for about another $100.  I've been using it for the last 12 months and it works great for CCIE R/S prep.

i7-5700 @ 2.70 GHz

16 GB RAM

• 2. Re: CCNP R&S, CCIE R&S Laptop Suggestion, Please!
            Juergen Ilse CCNA R&S

Faisal schrieb:

I want to buy a laptop for CCNP, CCIE lab practice and study. Simulator & Emulator Packet Tracer, GNS3, etc. My laptop budget is $700K.

1. Recommend Brand ?

2. Ram ?

3. Storage ?

4. Ports / Interface Required ?

etc

or

Any specific laptop / model name.

Think about much RAM, if you want to use VIRL or maybe GNS3 for bigger topologies. I would suggest, not less than 16 GB. SSD instead of (or in addition to) a harddisk may be a good invest. to speed up booting and starting of applications. I would like to see a real serial port (RS232) on every business laptop, but in reality, i didn't see RS232 Ports on new laptops since many years ... I would suggest to get a laptop with gigabit ethernet and WLAN, but that is the case with most current laptop models.

• 3. Re: CCNP R&S, CCIE R&S Laptop Suggestion, Please!
              David

Even though others have already chimed in with great recommendations I thought I would chime in to re-enforce what has already been said.
              Don't be stuck on Brand, you want to look for the following.

Processor I5 min I7 recommended or its AMD equivalent.