8 Replies Latest reply: May 7, 2010 2:23 AM by madcSPYnX RSS

CCENT OR CCNA?

Enes

Hello everyone!

I'm new to CISCO. I want to take certificate from from CISCO, but I don't know which one is best for me at this moment CCENT OR CCNA.

And another thing I want to ask is, please help me to choose the right learning sources.

• 1. Re: CCENT OR CCNA?
          Steverino

How much previous networking experience do you have?  If you have little to no previous networking experience, I would have to say start with CCENT, thats what its designed for.  If you feel comfortable with networking basics already, and have done a decent amount of network troubleshooting, start with CCNA.

• 2. Re: CCENT OR CCNA?
            Enes

Thank You, and what about learning sources?

• 3. Re: CCENT OR CCNA?
              Steverino

I am fairly new to Cisco myself and still trying to find all of the best learning sources, however I know that the Wendell Odom CCENT book is supposed to one of the better books.  The notes are posted on here.  I can also email them to you if you like.

• 4. Re: CCENT OR CCNA?
                Hashem

hi enes

will there are many resource for studying CCENT
                1- Books like " CCENT ICND1  Official Exam Certification Guide - Second Edition by Wendell Odom " or " Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician Study Guide ICND1 by Todd Lammle "

2- practices on switch and router IOS and you have 2 ways to do that
                   a- buy it ( which will cost you alot of money ).
                   b- use a simulation software like Boson sofware or CCNA Network Visualizer or other softwares

3- other resource like videos , exam preparation

Do not despair and persist and you will find the entire topic fun

• 5. Re: CCENT OR CCNA?
                  Jared