3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 10, 2018 8:17 AM by Sergey RSS

STP Root Guard

Jenner

Hello to all!

I'm studying for my CCNP switch exam and I found this topology and I wonder in what ports should I active STP Root Guard. Suppose SW1 is the root bridge

root guard.PNG

• 1. Re: STP Root Guard
          Martin

rule is "If a root-guard-enabled port receives BPDUs that are superior to the current root bridge is sending, that port is moved to a root-inconsistent state. "

* where the superior BPDU is that the BID is lower than the current root (BID is bridge priority and the system MAC).

so, in your topology, either switch can be Root if current root fails. Or u can make a executive decision not to make sw x root at all (never).

it only matters if one of your switches is oldest one, cannot handle traffic, does not have connections to other switches.

Or if u connect 5th switch off a non-root switch, i.e connect sw5 to sw4. u would put root guard on sw 4 connecting to sw 5. so that some1 does not force sw5 to become root sw.

• 2. Re: STP Root Guard
            Ing_Percy

Hi!

Root Guard