1 2 3 Previous Next 30 Replies Latest reply: Jun 18, 2019 12:14 PM by Jeff Rensink RSS

Certification Expiration Grace period

George

My Cisco Certs expire in 2 weeks and I am studying as we speak. If for some chance I fail is there a grace period after the expiration since I can't retake the test for a few days?

• 1. Re: Certification Expiration Grace period
          Jeff Rensink

I'm pretty sure at the CCNA/NP level, there are no grace periods where your certification goes inactive like the CCIE does.  So once you pass your expiration date, you have to earn the certification all over again.

Check out the details at the link below on the How to Recertify tab.

Certifications - Training & Certifications - Cisco

• 2. Re: Certification Expiration Grace period
            George

That sucks big time! At the very least we should have a grace period if we take a a recert test and fail. I stand to lose 4 certs if I fail. I'll hope for the best and make a big stink to Cisco if I fail.

• 3. Re: Certification Expiration Grace period
              Rigo - Community Moderator

Hi George,

Unfortunately, there is no recertification grace period for Associate and Professional certifications. Please note that candidates are responsible for keeping track of their certification expiration dates (via their Certification Tracking System profile) and it is strongly recommended to give themselves enough time to complete the recertification requirements. If you are not able to pass a qualifying exam on or before the certification expiration date, you will be required to complete the requirements again to re-obtain each certification.

For more information, please feel free to review the "How to Recertify" page link that Jeff shared above.

We wish you the best of luck on your recertification efforts.

Regards,

Rigo

Cisco Learning Network Moderator

• 4. Re: Certification Expiration Grace period
                Jeff Rensink

Yes, that would stink to lose all of your certs.