3 Replies Latest reply: Feb 17, 2017 6:10 AM by Reuben James RSS

Failed my 640-911, Best Course of action going forward

James

So I'm one of the many people who was not able to pass the 640-911 their first go around. I studied by reading the "Official Certification Guide" by Cisco Press, and studying pretty hard for about a week before taking the test (studying with the book and practice exams). Needless to say I'm very disappointed with the test. I would say a good 1/3 of the exam wasn't even mentioned in the book. I did notice that was mentioned here before I took the exam and looked at http://jensd.be/665/network/how-to-prepare-for-cicso-ccna-data-center-640-911-dcicn, and I briefly looked at the other points I was missing, but I don't think an evening or so studying the missing topics would've helped. I was also hoping that the test would've been updated to relevant questions that might be topics related to the Guide, but I was wrong.

/rant

So to get towards my main question, my plan was (if I passed) was to immediately start reading the Official Certification Guide for 640-916 and take that before April 11, the last day I can take the test. Even if I did do that, I would have to take the 200-150 exam. Should I start over and start studying for the 200-150 exam? And then, after hopefully passing that, go for the 200-155? Or should I go for the 640-916 now, then go back around and go for the 200-150?

If anyone has taken the 200-150 test, how did you study for it? Is that test more in tune with what the Official Certification Guides try to teach? It may be better for me to go with the 200-15X anyway if they do.

Any advice for this would help. This was my first Cisco test, and it is kind of disappointing/discouraging to fail this.

• 1. Re: Failed my 640-911, Best Course of action going forward
          Reuben James

Hi James,