Retirement of CCIP Certification

    Retirement of CCIP Certification

    On October 29, 2012, Cisco CCIP certification will be retired and after October 29, Cisco will no longer issue new certifications. Individuals interested in pursuing a professional-level Cisco Service Provider certification are encouraged to obtain the new Cisco CCNP Service Provider certification. The CCNP Service Provider certification program is a job role-based certification for delivering a scalable, optimized network capable of rapid expansion and introduction of new services and other customer requirements for service providers.


    With the retirement of the CCIP certification, candidates will no longer be able to recertify their existing CCIP certifications after October 29, 2012.


    Those CCIP certified individuals that have passed recognized exams may be eligible to receive credit toward some of the CCNP Service Provider certification. Credit from the following CCIP exams will be applied to CCNP Service Provider certification.


    • Current CCIP certified individuals who have passed the exam numbers as noted in the chart below and wish to pursue a CCNP Service Provider certification will be required to pass the 642-887 Implementing Cisco Service Provider Next-Generation Core Network Services (SPCORE) and 642-889 Implementing Cisco Service Provider Next-Generation Edge Network Services (SPEDGE). No CCIP exams will give a candidate credit towards the 642-887 SPCORE, or 642-889 SPEGDE.
    • 642-642 Implementing Cisco Quality of Service (QoS) and 642-902 Implementing Cisco IP Routing (ROUTE) exams will continue to be available for other associated certifications beyond October 29, 2012.
    • If you currently have a valid CCIP certification or in the process of pursuing a CCIP certification and would like to instead pursue a CCNP Service Provider certification, visit the CCIP-CCNP Service Provider Migration Tool. The CCIP-CCNP Service Provider Migration Tool will assist in identifying the exams you will need to pass to earn a CCNP Service Provider certification.


    Featured Content:


    CCIP Exams

    Given Credit Towards CCNP Service Provider Exams

    642-902 ROUTE
    642-901 BSCI
    642-892 Composite

    642-883 SPROUTE

    642-661 BGP
    (Last day to test July 27, 2012)

    642-885 SPADVROUTE

    642-691 BGP + MPLS
    (Last day to test July 27, 2012)

    642-642 QoS


    642-611 MPLS
    (Last day to test July 27, 2012)



    642-887 SPCORE


    642-889 SPEDGE


    Contact Cisco Certification & Communities Online Support for further assistance. You may also contact a Customer Support Agent, Monday through Friday, at 800 553-6387 (US/Canada). For international customers, visit the Worldwide Contacts page and select your country under the Regional Certification Support Phone Numbers.