Skip navigation
Login   |   Register
Cisco Learning Home > Certifications > CCIE Service Provider > Syllabus

Manage categories


Create and manage categories in Syllabus. Removing a category will not remove content.

Categories in Syllabus
Add a new category (0 remaining)

Manage Announcements


Create and manage announcements in Syllabus. Try to limit the announcements to keep them useful.

Announcements in Syllabus
Subject Author Date Actions


_C13: Document Content

CCIE® Service Provider Certification

The Cisco CCIE Service Provider certification validates the expert level skills required of a Network Engineer to design, configure, optimize, diagnose, and troubleshoot a complex highly available Service Provider network infrastructure. Candidates preparing for CCIE Service Provider certification possess thorough knowledge in IPv4 and IPv6 core, aggregation/edge, remote access technologies, Layer 2 and Layer 3 VPNs, plus managed services traversing an IP core networks. They also have an overall knowledge in security, virtualization and mobility technologies.


Partners: Log in for Partner Education Connection (PEC) curricula.



CCIE Service Provider Written and Lab Exams Revision


The CCIE Service Provider Written and Lab exams are being revised from v3.0 to v4.0 to align with changing industry job roles and the addition of new study materials.  The last day to test for both the Written and Lab v3.0 exams will be May 21, 2015.  The CCIE Service Provider Written and Lab exams v4.0 will be available for testing beginning May 22, 2015.


Learn More



There are no formal prerequisites for CCIE certification. Other professional certifications or training courses are not required.

Required Steps to Attain Certification

Candidates must first pass a written qualification exam and then the corresponding hands-on lab exam.


You are expected to have an in-depth understanding of the topics in the exam blueprints and strongly encouraged to have three to five years of job experience before attempting certification. You can review the exam preparation materials included on this page for more information.


Steps to Certification

Step One: CCIE Service Provider Written Exam

You must pass the two-hour, written qualification exam covering concepts and equipment commands related to packet-based networking infrastructure, before you are eligible to schedule the lab exam.



Step Two: CCIE Service Provider Lab Exam

The eight-hour lab exam tests your ability to configure actual equipment and get a service provider network running in a timed test situation. You must pass the lab within three years of passing the written to achieve certification. Your first lab attempt must be made within 18 months.



CCIE certifications are valid for two years and must be recertified every two years thereafter.


To recertify, pass ONE of the following before the certification expiration date:


  • Pass any current CCIE Written Exam, or
  • Pass the current CCDE Written Exam OR current CCDE Practical Exam, or
  • Pass the Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) interview AND the CCAr board review to extend lower certifications.


CCIE and CCDE professionals that do not pass a qualifying exam or lab exam before the recertification deadline will be placed in a suspended status and their employers will be notified. Suspended CCIE and CCDE professionals have one year to pass the required exam or lab before their expert level certification becomes permanently inactive. Inactive CCIE and CCDE professionals lose all benefits and must pass both the CCIE written and lab or CCDE written or practical exams again.


Achieving or recertifying CCIE, CCDE or CCAr automatically extends your active Entry, Associate, Professional or other Expert level certification(s), or Specialist Certifications up to the expiration date of the latest CCIE, CCDE or CCAr certification achieved.


For more information, access the CCIE Recertification.




view or provide comments about this page


CCIE Service Provider Group Discussion

Refresh this widget