Skip navigation
Login   |   Register
Cisco Learning Home > Certifications > CCIE Routing & Switching > Syllabus

Manage categories


Create and manage categories in Syllabus. Removing a category will not remove content.

Categories in Syllabus
Add a new category (0 remaining)

Manage Announcements


Create and manage announcements in Syllabus. Try to limit the announcements to keep them useful.

Announcements in Syllabus
Subject Author Date Actions


_C13: Document Content

CCIE® Routing & Switching Certification

CCIE Routing and Switching certifies the expert-level skills required to plan, prepare, operate, monitor and troubleshoot complex converged networks. Professionals who achieve CCIE have demonstrated their technical skills at the highest level.


Candidates are expected to have in-depth understanding of the topics on the blueprint and strongly encouraged to have at least three to five years of job experience before attempting certification.



Partners: Log in for Partner Education Connection (PEC) curricula.



Exams & Recommended Training

Cisco provides a flexible and integrated learning program using instructor-led and self-paced training, hands-on exercises, assessments, and practice exams to build the expert skills required for CCIE certification. The Cisco expert-level training for CCIE  Routing and Switching.


is available from specially trained and authorized learning partners. Other individual Cisco training courses can fill in gaps in a candidate’s experience or knowledge.



Required ExamsRecommended Training

CCIE Routing and Switching Written Exam (400-101)


CCIE Routing and Switching Lab Exam



Cisco expert-level training for CCIE Routing and Switching



Note: Changes to the CCIE and CCDE Written Exams Retake Policy and CCIE Lab Exams Retake Policy will go into effect beginning August 2, 2014.



CCIE certifications are valid for two years and must be recertified every two years thereafter.

To recertify, pass ONE of the following before the certification expiration date:

  • Pass any current CCIE Written Exam OR CCIE Lab Exam or
  • Pass the current CCDE Written Exam OR current CCDE Practical Exam, or
  • Pass the Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) interview AND the CCAr board review to extend lower certifications.


CCIEs that do not pass a qualifying exam before the recertification deadline will be placed in suspended status and their employers will be notified. Suspended CCIEs have one year to pass the required exam before their CCIE certification becomes permanently inactive. Inactive CCIEs lose all benefits and must pass both the written and lab exams again.


Achieving or recertifying CCIE or CCDE automatically extends your active Associate, Professional or other Expert level certification(s) up to the date of the last certification achieved. For more information, access the CCIE Recertification page on


view or provide comments about this page



CCIE Routing & Switching Group Discussion

Refresh this widget



Recent Activity RSS Feed of this list

Refresh this widget