Skip navigation
Login   |   Register
Cisco Learning Home > Certifications > CCDE Design Expert > Syllabus

Manage categories


Create and manage categories in Syllabus. Removing a category will not remove content.

Categories in Syllabus
Add a new category (0 remaining)

Manage Announcements


Create and manage announcements in Syllabus. Try to limit the announcements to keep them useful.

Announcements in Syllabus
Subject Author Date Actions


_C13: Document Content

CCDE™ Certification

Prove Your Expert Level Design Skills

CCDE certifies advanced-level skills in network infrastructure design principles and fundamentals for large networks. CCDEs have proven their ability to develop solutions which address planning, design, integration, optimization, operations, security and ongoing support at the network infrastructure level.


For more information please review our:




There are no formal prerequisites for CCDE certification. Other professional certifications or training courses are not required.

Recommended Training and Experience

Candidates must first pass a written qualification exam and then the corresponding practical exam.

You are expected to have an in-depth understanding of the topics in the exam blueprints, a minimum of seven years job experience, and a thorough understanding of networking infrastructure principles. You can review the exam preparation materials included on this page for more information.


Steps to Certification

Step One: CCDE Written Exam


You must pass the two-hour, written qualification exam which covers advanced networking infrastructure design principles and concepts. Once you pass the qualification exam, you are them eligible to schedule the practical exam.


Step Two: CCDE Practical Exam

The CCDE practical exam an eight-hour exam that will test your ability to identify, manage, and create advanced solutions for large scale networks. You must pass the practical exam within three years of passing the written exam in order to achieve certification. Your first lab attempt must be made within 18 months.



CCDE certifications are valid for two years and must be recertified every two years thereafter.

To recertify, pass ONE of the following before the certification expiration date:


  • Pass any current CCIE Written Exam OR CCIE lab exam, or
  • Pass the current CCDE Written Exam OR current CCDE Practical Exam, or
  • Pass the Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) interview AND the CCAr board review to extend lower certifications.


CCIE and CCDE professionals that do not pass a qualifying exam or lab exam before the recertification deadline will be placed in a suspended status and their employers will be notified. Suspended CCIE and CCDE professionals have one year to pass the required exam or lab before their expert level certification becomes permanently inactive. Inactive CCIE and CCDE professionals lose all benefits and must pass both the CCIE written and lab or CCDE written or practical exams again.


Achieving or recertifying CCIE, CCDE or CCAr automatically extends your active Entry, Associate, Professional or other Expert level certification(s), or Specialist Certifications up to the expiration date of the latest CCIE, CCDE or CCAr certification achieved.


For more information, access the CCDE Policies.



view or provide comments about this page


CCDE Design Group Discussion

Refresh this widget